NATO Member States

North Atlantic Defense Facts (NATO) was formed by 12 countries on April 4, 1949. The countries are the United States (US), Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Norway and Portugal. The purpose of the founding of NATO is to ensure the security of member countries by military and political means individually and collectively. This is stated in Article 5 of the North Atlantic Treaty which contains that all NATO member countries agree that if an attack occurs from one of them, it is considered an attack on all of them. Member states can defend or assist individually or collectively, which is recognized by article 51 of the United Nations Charter, to maintain the security of the North Atlantic region. This NATO alliance then grew rapidly, from which only numbered twelve countries to 30 countries to date. The following are some of the European countries that are NATO members. 1.

  1. English

Britain was one of the countries that was badly affected by the World War so that it had to face many challenges in 1945. This then made Britain a part of the defense alliance because NATO members protect each other from future enemies. The first NATO headquarters was even in London, Belgrave Square.

2. Portugal

When wanting to join NATO, this country was hesitant for fear of its territory being exploited for naval and air force bases. But NATO guarantees it will not use it without the approval of the Portuguese government. Portugal then joined NATO in 1949.
By joining NATO, Portugal benefits in terms of changes and developments in infrastructure as well as training and professional upgrading of its military personnel. Portugal joined NATO not only for defense and international cooperation, but also for peace.

3. The Netherlands The Netherlands was quite affected by the World Wars I and II. The Netherlands was also devastated during the war so it had to face a huge reconstruction. It was then that made the Netherlands join NATO on April 4, 1949. The Netherlands became one of the founding countries of NATO. In 1952 the Netherlands became a founding member of the European Coal and Steel Community. The Netherlands continues to be committed to the NATO agreement to support and protect its member states.

4. Spain Spain was hit by doubts about joining NATO, given its strategic position through which world trade routes pass by sea, land and air. However, NATO assures that this strategic position will continue to benefit Spain and will modernize Spain. In addition, NATO also emphasized that Spain’s strategic condition could trigger a major conflict. Finally, after more than 30 years of the formation of NATO, Spain is sure to join NATO. Spain joined NATO in 1982.

5. Montenegro Montenegro is a country located in Southern Europe. The country joined NATO on 5 July 2017. Flag-raising ceremony for
Montenegro took place at NATO Headquarters on June 7, 2017. Montenegro became the 29th allied country to join NATO. Prior to joining, it was known that Montenegro had been active in supporting NATO operations in Afghanistan from 2010 to 2014.